Ragsy – Single review

Ragsy – My Love (Bring out the Guards)

Release Date: 4th March 2016

You may be wondering where you have heard the name Ragsy before. It could be that you heard his debut single which featured the very awesome Sian Evans from Kosheen or, the more probable reason could be that you are a fan of reality TV and recognise Ragsy from The Voice, where he was mentored by fellow Welshman Sir Tom Jones in 2013.

Since the show Ragsy has been performing at various events, including Glastonbury and more importantly (well, for the purposes of this review anyway) he has recently recorded and released his debut album ‘Ouch!!!’

The second single released from this album is ‘My Love (Bring out the Guards)’ and features the vocals of singer-songwriter Caroline Harrison.

Listening to the track the one thing that stands out to me the most is how heart felt this song is.  It is great to see a ex reality star writing their own material and Ragsy definitely shows promise as a songwriter.

I can’t really fault the lyric writing but although the song has some pretty melodies, for me it doesn’t seem to go anywhere so after the first minute of listening I got kind of bored and found my attention wandering elsewhere. There is definitely a great deal of potential and I am very excited to hear more from Ragsy in the future

The soft and slightly husky tone of Ragsy’s vocals are perfectly matched with Caroline’s haunting vocals and it creates a beautiful acoustic indie ballad.

If you are a fan of The Stereophonics you will probably enjoy this track as it definitely feels like it has taken influences from them. The vocals are great, although slightly forced in places but unfortunately I found myself wanting to listen more to Caroline than Ragsy.

‘My Love (Bring out the Guards)’ is a well written track that I can see doing very well playing as background music in coffee shops, etc or around the house if you want something easy listening on while you work and it has certainly peaked my interest enough for me to check out the rest of the album…

The only thing left to do is for you to decide for yourself so please check the track out and let me know what you think, especially if your opinion differs from mine. At the moment it is on offer at 59p on iTunes so get yourself over there and grab yourself a deal…


Where can I find out more about Ragsy and get my hands on this single?

Website: www.ragsymusic.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Ragsy

Twitter: twitter.com/ragsy78

iTunes: itunes.apple.com/gb/album/my-love-bring-out-guards-feat./id1068602663


 

Thanks for taking the time to read this review, if you enjoyed it then please subscribe below to be notified by email each time a new review is posted as there are plenty more to come. If you didn’t enjoy it, well why not check out previous reviews or subscribe anyway, you never know I might win you round with the next one.

If you are an artist and would like a review of your own material please visit /how-to-submit for information on how to submit…

Thanks again,

Skar x

Leave a Reply

